What's next after Harry Potter | 6 Series to read next - Book Owl - bookowl.in

What’s Next After Harry Potter | 6 Series To Read Next

Its been almost 25 years since the release of the first Harry Potter book, the series remains much loved by children and adults alike. It has inspired millions of people to take up reading and introduced them to the world of young adult literature. But just like any beloved book series, it’s depressing when it’s over. So what should you pick up next to get your reading mojo back?

These highly recommended, highly addicting, can’t-put-‘em-down stories of adventure and fantasy will lift you out of the Harry Potter doldrums. Here are some recommendations to read after Harry Potter.

The Inheritance Cycle Series

by Christopher Paolini

The Inheritance Cycle Series has captivated millions of readers worldwide and is a natural next-read after finishing Harry Potter. It’s about a teenage boy who finds a dragon’s egg in the forest and gets caught up in a breathtaking adventure full of magic and danger. With four action-packed books in the series, young readers will get lost in this world for days.

Percy Jackson Series

by Rick Riordan

The second book on our list is the fan-favourite Percy Jackson 5 Books Box Set by Rick Riordan. Published shortly after Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, the Percy Jackson series has taken the children’s fiction audience by storm. With dynamic and diverse characters and a focus on Greek mythology, these books are entertaining as well as educational. This series follows twelve-year-old Percy Jackson, who is a demigod – half human, half God. At Camp Half-Blood, a Greek demigod training facility, Percy and his friends must overcome various challenges and mythical beasts. 

Beast Quest Series

by Adam Blade

The next book series on the list is the Beast Quest The Hero 1, 2 and 3. Beast Quest Collection 18 Books Box Set by Adam Blade. The Beast Quest books are popular with kids and will be a hit with those who loved the Harry Potter series for its fantastical and magical elements and mythical beasts. This series follows Tom, the bravest warrior boy of all, and his companion Elenna on their quest to defeat the dangerous mythical beasts of Avantia. Lucky for you this box set comes with a whopping 18 books with series 1, 2 and 3 to ensure the action doesn’t stop when the book ends.

Horrible History Series

by Terry Deary

Fourth on our list is the Horrible Histories series. these books are popular among kids for their hilariously gruesome and educational portrayal of historical periods and events.  This collection includes titles such as Awful Egyptians, Rotten Romans, Measly Middle Ages, Groovy Greeks, and many more brilliant titles! With so many titles to choose from, your kids are guaranteed to be entertained for hours on end and even learn a gruesome fact or two to impress their friends! Be sure to check out the Horrible Histories Savage 10 Book Collection Set by Terry Deary. 

An Epic Series of Failures Series

by Chris Rylander

Like young Harry Potter, the charmingly odd Greg Belmont discovers his true identity later in life: he’s a Dwarf, part of a disaster-prone group of people who have lived beneath Chicago for centuries. But magic wasn’t only awakened in Greg – it returned to all of the Dwarves – and now there’s a war brewing between the Dwarves and the Elves. Full of hijinks and magic, An Epic Series of Failures will scratch that itch of learning about a marvelous new world.

Worst Witch Series

by Jill Murphy

Before Harry Potter and Hogwarts, there was Mildred Hubble and Miss Cackle’s Academy for Witches. Not only is Mildred less natural with a wand than Harry, but she doesn’t have a Hermione to tutor her. Nevertheless, Mildred manages to weather her numerous magical exploits in this revived series that’s winning over a new generation of readers.

You can check our website for the availability of these books or on our Facebook group where we post three times a week.

Leave a Comment

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top